Delaney denies diving

By VillaMAD
Last updated : 18 November 2002
Delaney was clearly tripped by Albion defender Phil Gilchrist in first-half stoppage time but referee Dermot Gallagher waved away Villa's strong appeals.

The defender was subjected to a chorus of boo's from the Albion fans but television replays have since proved conclusively that the official got it wrong.

Delaney, now on international duty with Wales, said: "It was a definite penalty. Why would I go down when I was clean through? Ian Taylor played me in, I took a touch and I got whacked on the leg. It's still sore. I was struggling to walk after the game.

"The ref knew he'd made a mistake. I knew he'd give the penalty for the second one.

"The Albion fans booed me afterwards but I'm big enough to not let something like that bother me. If the ref thought I'd dived he'd have booked me. He knew he was wrong.

"I would never dive and you can clearly see I didn't on the replay."

Aston Villa Match Reports


Trending on the boards