Young- I should have had a penalty

Last updated : 13 October 2010

Ashley Young claims he was fouled not once but twice when he was booked for diving in England's European Championship qualifying draw with Montenegro. Aston Villa winger Young was at the centre of one of two second-half penalty claims during Tuesday night's goalless game at Wembley. The 25-year-old threw himself to the ground theatrically when he collided with Miodrag Dzudovic in the area, moments after appearing to be tugged back on the edge of the box by another defender. German referee Manuel Grafe ignored the first incident and cautioned Young for making a meal of the second. But the former Watford star denied diving deliberately, saying: "I felt there was a foul beforehand in the first phase of play that didn't get given and I just couldn't do anything to get out of the way of the player coming in. "I thought it was a penalty but that's the way things go. We didn't get it and we've just got to get on with it."

Source: PA

Source: PA

Aston Villa Match Reports

Sky Bet Championship Sat 9th December 15:00

Aston Villa 0 - 0 Millwall

Last game - Match Centre

Trending on the boards